Answered

need advice on under saddle versus sound hole pickup

I want to electrify my Larrivee L-05 so I can purchase a TWA, but I'm unsure if I should go with an under-saddle pickup or a sound hole pickup (both with end pin jack installed). my objective is to get the best tone possible while affecting the stock look, feel, and sound of my beloved guitar.  My guess is the sound hole type sounds better but doesn't look as good, and I wonder if it negatively effects tone and volume when not using a TWA.  I'm just a basement player, and I have zero experience with these things. I'd appreciate any feedback from anyone who provide me with some guidance.  I can't wait to purchase my TWA, but I want to make an informed decision on the best pickup. 

Answer

I like the soundhole option if you're not wanting to modify your guitar at all. 

Our B-FMP bundle is a good option for you because the pickup can be removed when you're not using the TWA. Plus, you can use it with other guitars as well. 

Dave

TWA

Thank you so much for the quick feedback Dave!  Please help with a couple more questions so I can finalize my decision and place my order.

I intend to replace the end pin with an output jack regardless of the pickup option I choose (under-saddle or sound hole).  So I consider the sound hole approach to be more permanent so I wouldn't be installing/uninstalling it over time.  Cosmetically the under saddle wouldn't even be noticeable but the sound hole pickup will always be visible. (I have a very experienced luthier that will do the install, including the slightly more invasive under saddle approach that requires a small hole to be drilled and also slightly shaving down the bridge).

Does the TWA sound or work better with a sound hole pickup versus the under saddle pickup? Are their sound considerations I should be thinking about for either approach, pros or cons?